Providence Community Library Board of Directors Minutes September 19, 2022 Roger Williams Park Casino

Welcome and Call to Order:

Board meeting was called to order at 6:05 PM by Zachary Weinberger, Board President

July 2022 Board Roster:

Tony Aguilar, Anita Bench, Avital R. Chatto, Joan Dagle, Deborah Del Gais, André Herrera, Caleb Horton, Sarah Morenon, V. Raffini, Amy Rosa, Adriana Vargas, Pam Vogel, Zachary Weinberger, Cyndie Wilmot, Lynn Zagoudis-Eastridge, Jordan Day, Roseanne Camacho, Gayle Gifford, Abraham Henderson, Robin Goldberg, Kathleen Stack, Hannah Kahn

Current Board composition = 22 members

Board Member(s) Present:

Tony Aguilar, Avital R. Chatto, Joan Dagle, Gayle Gifford, Robin Goldberg, Amy Rosa, Kathleen Stack, Pam Vogel, Zachary Weinberger, Lynn Zagoudis-Eastridge, Roseanne Camacho, Hannah Kahn, Adriana Vargas, Jordan Day, André Herrera

15 Members present

Member(s) Absent:

Caleb Horton, Anita Bench, V. Raffini, Abraham Henderson, Deborah Del Gais, Sarah Morenon, Cyndie Wilmot

7 Members absent

<u>Minutes:</u>

Update(s) to previous minutes:

Under Facilities Committee section -

Sara gave an overview. Jean Lamb has stepped down as chair and the committee is looking for volunteers. Deborah Del Gais would like to continue to serve.

Under Public Comment section -

Kathleen Stack, Representative from Wanskuck Friends group encouraged CLPVD to reach out to Rhode Island Wave. Aimee Fontaine and Cheryl Space agreed to do so.

Jordan Day moved to approve the July 18 minutes, Tony Aguilar seconded, and the motion was approved unanimously 14-0 with 2 abstention from Adriana Vargas and Roseanne Camacho.

President's Report & Mission Moment:

Guest Speaker(s): None Affiliation(s): not applicable Topic: Welcome

Zachary announced the retirement of board members and noted their tremendous contributions: Cyndie Wilmot, Friends of Olneyville Library representative Joan Dagle, Friends of Washington Park Library representative Deborah Del Gais, Friends of Mt. Pleasant Library representative Adriana Vargas, At-Large

Governance Committee:

Joan Dagle presented the Election and Re-election for At-Large Board Members Vote for at-large board members:

- Election of Pam Vogel = unanimous vote in favor
- Re-election of Avital Chatto = unanimous vote in favor

Zachary Weinberger, Board President welcomed a new member to the board: Steve Lightly, Friends of Mt. Pleasant Library representative

Joan Dagle motioned to Vote for Officer:

Avital Chatto for Vice President = unanimous vote in favor with 1 abstention from Avital Chatto

Recognition of CLPVD Award Recipients, 2022:

- Volunteer of the Year: Matt Cummiskey, presented by Laken Hottle
- Employee of the Year: Kevin Veronneau, presented by Amy Rosa
- Library Champion of the Year: Hernán Darío Jourdan, Ministry of Future Access, presented by Cheryl Space

Director's Report:

Cheryl congratulated everyone on another productive year and acknowledged the incredible staff that keep CLP going.

Public Comment:

-None-

Motion to Adjourn:

Jordan Day moved to adjourn, Tony Aguilar seconded, and the motion was approved unanimously, 15-0.

Respectfully submitted,

André Herrera Secretary