Community Libraries of Providence Board of Directors Minutes September 18, 2023 Roger Williams Park Casino - Annual Meeting

Welcome and Call to Order:

Board meeting was called to order at 6:05 PM by Zachary Weinberger, President

September 2023 Board Roster:

Tony Aguilar, Roseanne Camacho, Avital Chatto, Jordan Day, Gayle Gifford, André Herrera, Steven Lighty, Bob Medieros, Sarah Morenon, Patricia Raub, Ashley Rivera, Michelle Freeman, Kathleen Stack, Pam Vogel, Zachary Weinberger, Lynn Zagoudis-Eastridge, Ruth Crane

Current Board composition = 17 members

Board Member(s) Present:

Tony Aguilar, Avital Chatto, Jordan Day, Gayle Gifford, André Herrera, Bob Medieros, Sarah Morenon, Patricia Raub, Michelle Freeman, Kathleen Stack, Pam Vogel, Zachary Weinberger, Lynn Zagoudis-Eastridge, Ruth Crane

<u>14</u> Members present

Member(s) Absent:

Roseanne Camacho, Steven Lighty, Ashley Rivera

3 Members absent

Minutes:

Update(s) to previous minutes:

No discussion or corrections to previous minutes.

Avital Chatto moved to approve the August 21st minutes, Tony Aguilar seconded, and the motion was approved unanimously 13-0 with 1 abstention (Gayle Gifford).

President's Report & Mission Moment:

Guest Speaker(s): None Affiliation(s): not applicable

Topic: Welcome

Zachary welcomed all board members and the meeting continued.

Vote: Continuation of Strategic Plan

Jordan Day moved to approve the continuation of the Strategic Plan, Gayle Gifford seconded, and the motion was approved unanimously 14-0.

Governance Committee:

The Governance Committee conducted the election and re-election for at-large board members.

 Re-election of Jordan Day Re-election of Gayle Gifford Election of Nirva LaFortune Election of Marcia Ranglin-Vassell

Patricia Raub moved to approve the candidates in a slate vote election, Avital Chatto seconded, and the motion was approved unanimously 14-0.

The Governance Committee conducted the election and re-election for officers.

 Jordan Day, President André Herrera, Secretary Gayle Gifford, Treasurer

Tony Aguilar moved to approve the candidates in a slate vote election, Pam Vogel seconded, and the motion was approved unanimously 14-0.

Recognition of CLPVD Award Recipients, 2023:

Volunteer of the Year = Janet from Wanskuck Library Employees of the Year = Janet Fuentes and Aimee Fontaine

Director's Report:

Maria Melvin, Director of HR, presented an award to Director Cheryl Space in recognition of her first five years as director and for being CLPVD's longest serving director.

Special thank you to Cindy Wilmot and Joan Dagle for their help on the CLPVD Promotional Video

CLPVD Staff presented a "show & tell" of meaningful objects that represent achievements at their individual libraries.

Director Cheryl Space reflected on the progress of the past year.

Other Business:

-None-

Public Comment:

Mayor Brett Smiley offered remarks of support.

Motion to Adjourn:

Jordan Day moved to adjourn, Sarah Morenon seconded, and the motion was approved unanimously, 14-0.

Respectfully submitted,

André Herrera Secretary